New Normal

Posted on February 13, 2012


This past year I have been living in a “New Normal;” becoming single, changes in who I am as a person, challenging my whole thought process of who I am as a woman, and learning my greatness in God who created me.  Everything I was that was “Normal,” which was turned upside down, is no longer.  It has been a fascinating ride, a great year of discovery, and an amazing adventure.

My sister says this is your “new normal,” my doctor told me this is your “new normal,” and even words from the bible are telling me this is your ”new normal.”

2 Corinthians 5:17
Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!

Galatians 6:15
Neither circumcision nor uncircumcision means anything; what counts is the new creation.

If the Bible tells me that the old has gone, and the new is here and that I am a new creation, I must live it out loud!  I have embraced it with enthusiasm, with great awareness that the old is gone, and knowing that God will never leave me.  He will walk with me into the “New Normal” each day.

So with thinking what does “New Normal” really mean, I have researched it, read blogs on it, and even have bought a book about it (yet to read)?

Here is part of a blog I have read by Anne Caputo, Executive Director of Dow Jones Learning & Information Professional Programs ‘Living in the ‘New Normal.’

“People of every generation think they live in a time of dramatic change–change far more revolutionary than any that came before. I try very hard not to be one of those who lament the loss of former times and say the past was better than the present. What I do say, however, is that we are living in a ‘new normal’ state of affairs. Old assumptions and practices are passing away, and what we are left with has become a kind of replacement for what had been normal.

If we want to be Future Ready and thrive in the new normal we need to be mindful of four things:

  • First, a roadmap is required. Lewis Carroll, author of Alice in Wonderland and many other books of whimsy said, “If you don’t know where you are going, any road will get you there.” We don’t want to travel by just any road, but by the best-informed, best-prepared route (This I have found with Grace Adventure)
  • Second, fundamental values matter. Our core competencies of selecting and acquiring the best and most appropriate content, organizing and describing content in ways that make it useful and findable, assisting in choosing the best sources, and teaching others to use tools that have never been more needed and more valued (My Value and Worth that God has shown me)
  • Third, follow the money. By this I mean we must believe in the value we provide, measure and articulate that value in meaningful ways (Core measurable, meaningful, things that God says about me)
  • Finally, action trumps inaction. Will Rogers, the American humorist, once said, “Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there.” Holding back and waiting for someone else to take the initiative is not a good strategy at a time when the new normal is being invented. Take action to ensure you, your function, your skills, and your fundamental competencies become part of the new normal. (I cannot close the notebook on what I have learned – action needs to be taken)

We must move away from old models that do not work while adopting new models that take advantage of our skills. Changes in information delivery, storage, organization, and acquisition beg for a new normal. We must become the centerpiece in making the new normal a success.”

Today think of your “New Normal;” create a road map, remember your value, measure what is meaningful in your life, take action, then live it out loud!

Laney Allison

Group 32

Posted in: Change, God